## IJCAI-24 Awards: Call for Nominations

IJCAI calls for nominations for its 2024 awards. These awards include the Computer and Thought Award, the John McCarthy Award, and the Research Excellence Award. The 2024 IJCAI Award Committee Chair is Professor Christian Bessiere, CNRS, University of Montpellier, France.

Nominations for IJCAI awards may be made by any member of the AI community.

Nominations and letters of support must be submitted as a single PDF file sent to <u>bessiere@lirmm.fr</u>. The subject line must include category (Computer and Thought/John McCarthy/Research Excellence) and the name of the nominee.

The deadline for submissions is <u>April 15, 2024</u>. Nominations received after the due date will not be considered.

The first page of the nomination file should state the name of the candidate being nominated, their email address and website (if available), and the name and contact details of the nominator. The nomination should contain a statement (no more than 2000 words) clearly specifying why the nominee is deserving of the award. The nomination should contain letters of support from up to 3 supporters from the AI community, who should also clearly state why they believe the nominee is deserving of the award (each supporting statement should be no more than 1000 words and should identify the supporter).

## **Computers and Thought Award**

The Computers and Thought Award is presented to outstanding young scientists in Artificial Intelligence. Nominees for the IJCAI Computers and Thought Award should have received their PhD within the last 7 years at the date of the IJCAI conference. The eligibility period can be extended beyond 7 years for the following properly documented circumstances occurring after the Ph.D. defense: parenting leave, national service, illness of the nominee or close family members, or other exceptional circumstances.

## John McCarthy Award

The IJCAI John McCarthy Award is intended to recognize established mid-career researchers, typically between 15 to 25 years after obtaining their Ph.D., that have built up a major track record of research excellence in Artificial Intelligence, with significant contributions to research agenda in area and have a first-rate profile of influential research results.

## **Research Excellence Award**

The Research Excellence award is given to a scientist who has carried out a program of research of consistently high quality throughout an entire career yielding several substantial results. Past recipients of this honor are the most illustrious group of scientists from the field of Artificial Intelligence.

Past recipients of the Computers and Thought Award: Terry Winograd (1971), Patrick Winston (1973), Chuck Rieger (1975), Douglas Lenat (1977), David Marr (1979), Gerald Sussman (1981), Tom Mitchell (1983), Hector Levesque (1985), Johan de Kleer (1987), Henry Kautz (1989), Rodney Brooks (1991), Martha Pollack (1991), Hiroaki Kitano (1993), Sarit Kraus (1995), Stuart Russell (1995), Leslie Kaelbling (1997), Nicholas Jennings (1999), Daphne Koller (2001), Tuomas Sandholm (2003), Peter Stone (2007), Carlos Guestrin (2009), Andrew Ng (2009), Vincent Conitzer (2011), Malte Helmert (2011), Kristen Grauman (2013), Ariel Procaccia (2015), Percy Liang (2016), Devi Parikh (2017), Stefano Ermon (2018), Guy Van den Broeck (2019), Piotr Skowron (2020), Fei Fang (2021), Bo Li (2022) and Pin-Yu Chen (2023).

Past recipients of the John McCarthy Award: Bart Selman (2015), Moshe Tennenholtz (2016), Dan Roth (2017), Milind Tambe (2018), Pedro Domingos (2019), Daniela Rus (2020), and Tuomas Sandholm (2021), Michael L. Littman (2022) and Dieter Fox (2023).

Past recipients of the Award for Research Excellence: John McCarthy (1985), Allen Newell (1989), Marvin Minsky (1991), Raymond Reiter (1993), Herbert Simo(1995), Aravind Joshi (1997), Judea Pearl (1999), Donald Michie (2001), Nils Nilsson (2003), Geoffrey E. Hinton (2005), Alan Bundy (2007), Victor Lesser (2009), Robert Anthony Kowalski (2011), Hector Levesque (2013), Barbara Grosz (2015), Michael I. Jordan (2016), Andrew Barto (2017), Jitendra Malik (2018), Yoav Shoham (2019), Eugene Charles Freuder (2020), Richard Sutton (2021), Stuart Russell (2022) and Sarit Kraus (2023).

Informal inquiries or requests for clarification should be sent to the chair of the IJCAI-2024 awards committee: **Christian Bessiere <bessiere@lirmm.fr>** (subject line: "IJCAI 2024 Awards").

Information on the awards is available at https://www.ijcai.org/awards