IJCAI Awards

IJCAI-19 Awards: Call for Nominations

IJCAI-18 Awards

The IJCAI-18 Award for Research Excellence, the John McCarthy Award and the Computers and Thought Award are awarded by the IJCAI Board of Trustees, upon recommendation by the IJCAI-18 Awards Selection Committee, which consists this year of

  • Marie des Jardins, University of Maryland, Baltimore County (USA)
  • Sarit Kraus, Bar-Ilan University (ISRAEL)
  • Dan Roth, The Beckman Institute, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign (USA)
  • Carles Sierra, Artificial Intelligence Research Institute (IIIA) (SPAIN) and
  • Michael Wooldridge, Oxford University (Chair) (UK)

The IJCAI Awards Selection Committee receives advice from members of the IJCAI-18 Awards Review Committee, who comment on the accuracy of the nomination material and provide additional information about the nominees. The IJCAI-18 Awards Review Committee is the union of the former Trustees of IJCAI, the IJCAI-18 Advisory Committee, the Program Chairs of the last three IJCAI conferences, and the past recipients of the IJCAI Award for Research Excellence and the IJCAI Distinguished Service Award, with nominees excluded.

IJCAI-18 Award for Research Excellence:

The Research Excellence award is given to a scientist who has carried out a program of research of consistently high quality throughout an entire career yielding several substantial results. Past recipients of this honor are the most illustrious group of scientists from the field of Artificial Intelligence.

They are: John McCarthy (1985), Allen Newell (1989), Marvin Minsky (1991), Raymond Reiter (1993), Herbert Simon (1995), Aravind Joshi (1997), Judea Pearl (1999), Donald Michie (2001), Nils Nilsson (2003), Geoffrey E. Hinton (2005), Alan Bundy (2007), Victor Lesser (2009), Robert Anthony Kowalski (2011),  Hector Levesque (2013), Barbara Grosz (2015), Michael I. Jordan (2016) and Andrew Barto (2017).

The winner of the 2018 Award for Research Excellence is Jitendra Malik, Arthur J. Chick Professor of EECS at the University of California at Berkeley, and Director, Facebook AI Research, Menlo Park.  Professor Malik is recognized for  fundamental advances in computer vision.


IJCAI-18 Computers and Thought Award:

The Computers and Thought Award is presented at IJCAI conferences to outstanding young scientists in artificial intelligence. The award was established with royalties received from the book, Computers and Thought, edited by Edward Feigenbaum and Julian Feldman. It is currently supported by income from IJCAI funds. Past recipients of this honor have been: Terry Winograd (1971), Patrick Winston (1973), Chuck Rieger (1975), Douglas Lenat (1977), David Marr (1979), Gerald Sussman (1981), Tom Mitchell (1983), Hector Levesque (1985), Johan de Kleer (1987), Henry Kautz (1989), Rodney Brooks (1991), Martha Pollack (1991), Hiroaki Kitano (1993), Sarit Kraus (1995), Stuart Russell (1995), Leslie Kaelbling (1997), Nicholas Jennings (1999), Daphne Koller (2001), Tuomas Sandholm (2003), Peter Stone (2007), Carlos Guestrin (2009), Andrew Ng (2009),Vincent Conitzer (2011), Malte Helmert (2011), Kristen Grauman (2013), Ariel Procaccia (2015), Percy Liang (2016) and Devi Parikh (2017).

The winner of the 2018 IJCAI Computers and Thought Award is Stefano Ermon, Assistant Professor at the Department of Computer Science, Fellow, Woods Institute for the Environment,
Stanford University.  Professor Ermon is recognized for his foundational work on probabilistic reasoning, machine learning, and decision making, with a range of novel applications in areas with
broad societal impact.

IJCAI-18 John McCarthy Award:

The IJCAI John McCarthy Award is intended to recognize established mid-career researchers, typically between fifteen to twenty-five years after obtaining their PhD, that have built up a major track record of research excellence in artificial intelligence. Nominees of the award will have made significant contributions to the research agenda in their area and will have a first-rate profile of influential research results.

The award is named for John McCarthy (1927-2011), who is widely recognized as one of the founders of the field of artificial intelligence. As well as giving the discipline its name, McCarthy made fundamental contributions of lasting importance to computer science in general and artificial intelligence in particular, including time-sharing operating systems, the LISP programming languages, knowledge representation, common-sense reasoning, and the logicist paradigm in artificial intelligence.

The award was established with the full support and encouragement of the McCarthy family.

Past recipients of this honor have been:  Bart Selman (2015), Moshe Tennenholtz (2016) and Dan Roth (2017).

The winner of the 2018 John McCarthy Award is Milind Tambe, Helen N. and Emmett H. Jones Professor in Engineering and Professor of Computer Science & Industrial and Systems Engineering Departments of the University of South California.  Professor Tambe is recognized for research and development of important practical applications of AI and multi-agent systems for social good.

Donald E. Walker Distinguished Service Award:

The IJCAI Distinguished Service Award was established in 1979 by the IJCAI Trustees to honor senior scientists in AI for contributions and service to the field during their careers. Previous recipients have been: Bernard Meltzer (1979), Arthur Samuel (1983), Donald Walker (1989), Woodrow Bledsoe (1991), Daniel G. Bobrow (1993), Wolfgang Bibel (1999), Barbara Grosz (2001), Alan Bundy (2003), Raj Reddy (2005), Ronald J. Brachman (2007), Luigia Carlucci Aiello (2009), Raymond C. Perrault (2011), Wolfgang Wahlster (2013), Anthony G. Cohn (2015), Erik Sandewall (2016) and Ramon Lopez de Mantaras (2017).

The IJCAI Distinguished Service Award 2018 will be presented to Craig Knoblock, Research Director, Center on Knowledge Graphs, Research Professor of Computer Science and Spatial Sciences, Division Director of Artificial Intelligence at USC-ISI.
Professor Knoblock is recognized for his substantial contributions, as well as his extensive service to the field of Artificial Intelligence throughout his career.